#BrokersCare Bursary

The IBAS #BrokersCare Bursary recognizes one graduating high school student in Saskatchewan who exemplifies outstanding dedication to community service, civic leadership, and academic achievement.

In 2024, the successful applicant will receive a one-time cash award of $7,200 — in celebration of IBAS’s 72nd year in operation.

Eligibility & Selection Criteria

The recipient of the #Brokers Care Bursary will:

  • Be a Grade 12 student in Saskatchewan as of April 1, 2024, with an intent to pursue some form of recognized higher education within 12 months of the application deadline;
  • Demonstrate an exceptional commitment to their community through volunteerism and leadership of civic, school-based, and/or extra-curricular activities;
  • Be a role model for their peers and the next generation of young leaders; and
  • Have achieved a minimum cumulative Grade 11 average of 80%.

How to Apply

To submit your name for consideration, you must complete a short online application form, which requires 250 – 750 words explaining how you have made a meaningful difference in your community, and how that involvement has helped shape your life and future ambitions. Please note that our independent review committee will not consider submissions with fewer than 250 words or more than 750 words.

The application window opens on Monday, April 1, 2024, and closes Friday, May, 31, 2024.

Past Bursary Recipients

Note: The IBAS #BrokersCare Bursary was previously marketed as the IBAS Young Community Leader Bursary.

2023: Telia Lafontaine

2022: Sung Park

2021: Carolyn Engbers

2020: Maahi Shah